Happy Birthday Megan Hilty!!! – Broadway For The People…Who Watch TV.

29 Mar

I should be working on the upcoming fundraisers for my show opening the second week in May, but instead I’m writing blog posts about Megan Hilty.

That’s how I roll.

I can work on my super awesome 80’s trivia questions in a second, but right now I want to say “Happy Birthday” to a pretty badass actress.

If you don’t know who Megan Hilty is, then you’re not watching Smash and you SHOULD be watching Smash.

.

.Granted, I’m a theatre girl so, to me, it’s freaking awesome and to you, maybe less awesome, but still worth watching. Even if they insist on completely unnecessary song & dance numbers in bowling alleys. .

.

..

.

Also, you have Brian d’Arcy James, DO SOMETHING WITH HIM!!

Like this, for instance.

Back to the birthday girl, Miss Hilty. Love Ivy (her Smash alter ego) or hate her, you have to be a stone-cold idiot not to agree that Hilty has something special. Her voice is fantastic. Please. Google her. Love her. Keep your eye out for her. She’s going to be huge.

There is nothing more exciting to me than a show like Smash doing as well as it is because while I spent my entire young life listening to Broadway soundtracks and spontaneously bursting into show tunes, other people did not. Thank God for NBC bringing Broadway to network television. 

.These actors deserve to be seen, dammit! Pick a Smash actor at random and I can almost guarantee you that they have graced the stage long before your DVR. For instance, Christian Borle who plays “Tom” already popped up on the TV sets of tweens in 2007 when he played “Emmet” in the MTV made-for-tv musical version of Legally Blonde. Remember the reality show they had to find the next “Elle” and then they followed up the finale with a televised version of the entire show…which was awesome, but not quite as awesome as Carmen: A Hip Hopera.

That shit was hilarious.

Anyhoo…HAPPY BIRTHDAY MEGAN HILTY!!

It's my birthday, bitch!

So watch Smash, go to a show, SUPPORT THE ARTS! Especially Theatre…’cause it’s awesome. I once took a nose dive head first into the first row when my Knight spun me too hard while in Camelot. It’s totally just as violent as hockey and football. Or not. Whatever.

Speaking of blondes…you know that show I keep talking about? Well, I get to be blonde in it. Alas, I’m no Marilyn, but a girl can dream, can’t she?

I'm going to go ahead and just pretend like this is what I'm supposed to look like. Hopefully there will be more flattering and less drunk-looking promos to come.

**Note to Smash producers: If you don’t give me some Norbert Leo Butz I’m going to flip out.***

2 Responses to “Happy Birthday Megan Hilty!!! – Broadway For The People…Who Watch TV.”

  1. clownonfire March 29, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

    So I’m like: “Look, it’s David Cassidy with CJ and her hubby”. And Sara’s like: “Man you’re a dumbass, that’s one of their friends, I’m sure. Back in your cage, Clown”…
    Le Clown

    • CJack March 30, 2012 at 9:26 am #

      No…it’s David Cassidy. We’ve had him cloned and keep him as a pet.

Leave a Reply

