“I knew that Elmo should represent love” – Being Elmo

22 Mar

Have you seen Being Elmo? Well you should, because it’s wonderful. Wonderful!! Last night I came home (still mildly sick from the Great Food Poisoning of 2012) attempted to do some Wii Fit (that little jerkface keeps calling me obese…he’s gonna’ get punched) and after spending 25 minutes Island Cycling until I wanted to die I sat my butt down on the couch.

Since the Wii was still on I figured I’d drop by Netflix to see what was new. If someone were to profile people based on the things they choose to watch on Netflix, I’m sure I’d be on some sort of list, but that’s a post for another day.

Instead of heading to the “Recommended For You” category (I wasn’t in the mood for horrific movies about serial killers…not yesterday anyway), I went to  “New Releases” and there it was, the second movie offered, Being Elmo, the documentary about Kevin Clash. The man behind the muppet.

Four minutes in and I was already sobbing. Granted, I’m a crier, but this was almost too much to Fozzie bear.

1) I love the Muppets! I love that they love so much. It’s all Jim Henson’s fault as I’m quite sure he was the most wonderful human being to ever walk the Earth and he made it his mission to surround himself with like-minded, hilarious, badass loving folk like himself. 

2) I love a story about a kid doing something they love regardless of what others think. The son of a blue collar factory worker (George) and home daycare operator (Gladys), Kevin grew up in a suburb of Baltimore, Maryland. He would build puppets and put on shows for the kids his Mother cared for. His first stage, a blanket tossed over the clothesline in the backyard. He was a teenage boy that played with dolls when everyone (save for George and Gladys) thought he should be playing basketball. Lesser men would have caved under the pressure to fit in. Not Kevin. He’s my hero.

3) The only thing more wonderful to me than a kid following his dreams, is a kid with parents who bust their butts to make sure those dreams come true. Mr. & Mrs. Clash are absolutely divine. You want to know how good children become great people, then look to George and Gladys. They weren’t rich, they couldn’t buy Kevin boatloads of blue fur and googly eyes, but when a young Kevin spied the brown fur-like lining of his Father’s trench coat and thought “I could make a monkey out of that” and then proceeded to “make a monkey out of that,” he got a pretty groovy reaction from his parents. He left the puppet on their dresser and like any little boy who’d just destroyed his Dad’s (maybe only) coat would do, hid. They found him and the first thing his Father said to him? “What’s his name?” Amazeballs. So they told him that next time he should probably ask first and his Mother noted that as talented as this kid is, “Someday, he can buy you a new coat, George.” At one point in the film, someone (Whoopie, maybe?) points out that Elmo isn’t just the love and kindness that’s inside Kevin, Elmo is how much George and Gladys loved Kevin. I gots parents like this too. It’s pretty much the best thing ever.

Now, I’m not saying the guy walks on water or anything, he has his problems. He’s got a daughter who would have liked her Daddy around everyday, but being Elmo for millions of other kids takes up a lot of time, ya’ know? Elmo may be a “furry red monster,” but Kevin Clash is only human.

I didn’t just sit there and sob through the whole thing though…right around the time they showed a clip of a Jim Henson special where he was teaching viewers how to make their own puppets I may or may not have gotten a bit distracted…..

Sup?

That’s Claude.

He’s what happens when CJack has plenty of things around the house that need to be done, but she ends up watching movies about Muppets instead.

KJack came home to a pile of felt and hot glue.

I know, you’re totes jealous.

***FYI – DIY***

Claude was made out of a furry orange sock; an orange ponytail holder (slipped around his head and in his mouth to keep it defined); yellow, white and dark brown felt and hot glue. That’s it. Insta-friend. I haven’t decided yet, but he’s probably British.


5 Responses to ““I knew that Elmo should represent love” – Being Elmo”

  1. saradraws March 23, 2012 at 9:22 am #

    I heart Claude. I vote for a puppet show, on video, for us.

  2. clownonfire March 22, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

    Things are right when I am not the first one too comment.
    CoF

    • CJack March 22, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

      Well you did give it a few minutes. At first, I was worried. I admire your restraint.

  3. Tallulah "Lulu" Stark March 22, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

    You know, I saw that on Netflix and was like, “Pass. I get enough Elmo in the day when my son is awake.” I’ll have to check it out.

    I don’t know if you had Mister Rodgers. That man was the nicest, most gentle man that ever lived. His birthday and anniversary of his death just passed. I don’t know why they couldn’t make a show to pick that same idea back up. Mister Rodgers wasn’t a character on the show. He was playing himself. He didn’t regard children that way. He regarded everyone with the same even, nice tone, that gave you this warm feeling. And I know for some kids out there, he was the only person that made him feel special.

    • CJack March 22, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

      Totally right! I loved Mr. Rogers and he was a puppeteer too! David Newell (Mr. McFeely the mailman) is going to be at a Chicago comic/entertainment convention in April. He still tours as Mr. McFeely because of the awesome work Fred did when he was still around!

Leave a Reply

