Tee For Tuesdays: Don’t Pinch Me, I’m Wearing Green.

13 Mar

Hello all! Welcome to the fourth edition of…

Don’t be mad, Intermittent Readers, but today’s post is pretty much going to be phoned in. I apologize, I love you. It’ll still be good though, trust, folks.

Ok…so since this weekend is St. Patrick’s Day, T4T this week will feature a green shirt, friends! Thus endeth any sort of theme for today.

St. Patrick’s Day, a day of green beer, puking, and shenanigans (that sounds like an Irish word, right?).

Without further ado, I present to you, a shirt that has absolutely no relevance to St. Patrick’s Day (save the color) and was, in fact, only worn one time…on Halloween.

Kid Nation‘s Queen of Bonanza City: Laurel McGoff – The T-Shirt

For those of you who don’t know what Kid Nation is, it was a CBS reality show circa 2007 that took a bunch of kids, divided them into four teams and dropped them onto the Bonanza Creek Movie Ranch then told them to “create a functioning society” in the old west, all by their lonesome doves.

It. Was. Awesome!!

Here we have 40 kids (ages 8-15) set in front of cameras and told to prove to the world that just because you’re kids, doesn’t mean you’re douchebags. And you know what? They did...for the most part. Taylor (the girl from the video in that link you didn’t click on) is probably a lovely girl in real life, but even a kid-centric reality show needs a villain and where there’s a villain, there’s a hero. Enter Laurel McGoff. Laurel was my hero. She was pure awesomesauce and I loved her.

"Tell me to 'deal with it' one more time and I'll smack you."

So I did what any fan of a little watched and pretty much hated reality show would do and dressed up as Laurel for Halloween.

Where did I gets it? Everything needed to make that tee was purchased at Michaels. Green t-shirt, iron-on letters and whatever the hell I used to make the white “name tag” part.

Why is this t-shirt awesome? Because no one else on the planet save for Laurel herself has one. (probably)

Why do I have it? I feel this question has an obvious answer and will instead ask…

Why is this T4T worthy? Because I needed a green t-shirt for the St. Patrick’s Day Edition of Tee For Tuesdays and I love an excuse to talk about TV shows no one watched, to show off old Halloween costumes that I thought were totally genius and to show people this picture:

Halloween 2007: The Year No One Knew Who I Was

Let’s close out this Tuesday’s post with a song, shall we?

7 Responses to “Tee For Tuesdays: Don’t Pinch Me, I’m Wearing Green.”

  1. saradraws March 13, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

    Ok, I clicked on that link you said I wouldn’t just because you said I wouldn’t. Damn you and your reverse psychology. That kid scares me.
    The redhead sings real pretty.
    I was never one of these kids. I was gross and awkward and would’ve done stupid things on camera like falling and farting and saying obnoxious things.
    Why can’t THAT be a reality show?
    ps. i like your shirt, and the obscurity of your costume. I once went as Death (in training). I couldn’t take souls, I could just inflict embarrassing ailments like acne or genital warts. Strangely, no one thought it was as hilarious as I did.

    • CJack March 13, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

      These kids were genetically engineered to be reality TV stars. I’m STILL gross.

      • saradraws March 13, 2012 at 6:48 pm #

        Grossies 4evah

  2. clownonfire March 13, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    You made the door behind you look better.

    • CJack March 13, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

      I try. I think I like that picture so much because, if taken today, you more than likely wouldn’t be able to see the door.

  3. Slugs March 13, 2012 at 11:56 am #

    I took that picture! Yay me.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Anything Can Happen On Halloween… « Come on, Mr. Sunshine - October 27, 2012

    […] already explained my love for Laurel and Kid Nation here. I miss that show. This “How To” is not how to be “Laurel” exactly, but […]

Leave a Reply

