I Wanna’ Be Free…Say Goodbye

1 Mar

I was all prepared to post something entirely different today, but since the world tragically lost Davy Jones yesterday I got sidetracked and wanted to share some Davy related goodness instead. According to reports Davy died yesterday morning after suffering a heart attack. He was 66.

I spoke last week about Wizard World Comic Con and how you’ll generally find a Monkee at these things. This year, it was going to be Davy. I was pretty excited to meet him. I really loved him and the rest of the Monkees. My Dad was quite the fan and has sung Monkees tunes to me since I was a baby.

I’m sorry he’s gone, but I’m grateful he left us with so much. Here’s a few things gathered from the interwebs to put a smile on the faces of those who’ll miss him, jog the memory of those who may have forgotten and to maybe introduce 1 or 2 of you to someone who was pretty special.

He’s Davy Jones, after all.

First, The Brady Bunch.

In 1971, Marsha, head of the Davy Jones Fan Club, totally promised that Davy would come sing at the Westdale High School Prom. Because she’s Marsha, it all worked out…because Marsha makes things happen dammit.

Second, Boy Meets World.

Topanga’s dad was played by Peter Tork. There wasn’t a chance in hell that TGIF was going to let a Monkee opportunity pass them by. In 1995 the hip thing to do was go to raves. I never went to one because glow sticks freak me out, but Corey & Eric Matthews “threw” one (Does one even “throw” a rave?) at Chubbies on the the same night of their parents’ anniversary. Blah, Blah, Blah, they got caught, learned a valuable lesson, yadda, yadda, yadda, the Monkees showed up.

It’s REG! Reginald Fairfield!

Finally, Dawson’s Creek.

Davy never actually made an appearance on the creek, but nevertheless his presence was there because Joey & Dawson had a song, as all annoying teenage couples do, and their song was Daydream Believer.

I’m sure there are loads more “Davy Moments,” we could talk about, but these three are mine. Granted, I wasn’t quite yet around for the original airing of his Brady Bunch episode. I caught up with it a few (15 or so) years later.

My Dad brought these Monkees into my life and I thank him for it.

Davy Jones, you are missed.

Thank you.

Take the last train to Clarksville,
Now I must hang up the phone.
I can’t hear you in this noisy railroad station all alone…

– Last Train To Clarksville, The Monkees, 1966


3 Responses to “I Wanna’ Be Free…Say Goodbye”

  1. clownonfire March 1, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    It’s an honest and touching tribute, CJ.

    • CJack March 1, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

      Thank you sir, I had to stop re-reading it cause it made me tear up a little every time.

      • clownonfire March 1, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

        We ❤ feelers. [Did this come out as I intended it?]

Leave a Reply

